Many congratulations to all of the worthy winners and nominees of the 2022 Golden Whistle Awards.

Golden Whistles Trophies

The full list of winners is detailed below.

Passenger Operators (based on On Time Moving Annual Average statistics)

London and South East: Gold – c2c; Silver – South Western Railway

Regional: Gold – Merseyrail; Silver – Northern

Long Distance: Gold – Greater Anglia; Silver – LNER


Freight Operators (based on Arrivals to Fifteen (A2F) measure)

Gold – Direct Rail Services; Silver – Colas Rail


Minimising Delay Minutes on Self (passenger and freight operators)

Gold – CrossCountry; Silver – Freightliner Heavy Haul


Network Rail Route (minimising delay minutes)

Gold – East Coast; Silver – Wessex


London Underground (based on the ‘services operated all week’ metric)

Gold – Northern Line; Silver – District Line


Irish Rail

Right Time Punctuality: Gold – Waterford

Minimising Delay Minutes: Gold – Maynooth Commuter


Outstanding Individual Operator

Gold: Adam Flint, Network Rail Wessex Route

Silver: Sarah Higgins, West Midlands Trains


Outstanding Operating Team

Gold: L2C OLE testing, East Midlands Railway

Silver: Chiltern Railways/West Midlands Trains Collaboration Committee

Highly Commended: Bristol East Junction Renewal Project Team; LNER Service Delivery Team; GWR Train Planning Team; Operational Delivery Team (North West and Central), Northern; East Coast Upgrade – King’s Cross Team, Network Rail, LNER and Hitachi


Special Award

Scotland’s Railway COP26 team and Climate Train


Lifetime Achievement Award

Gordon Pettitt


For full details please see the 4th Friday Club website.