Our Board of Governers is made up of experienced and recognisable figureheads, thought leaders and opinion formers from leading railway operators.

Together they offer a wealth and breadth of experience which informs our unique approach to learning and ensures our academic opportunities and development pathways are current, accurate and relevant.

Ellie Burrows FCIRO

CIRO Chair, Route Director, Network Rail

Howard Smith FCIRO

Director, Elizabeth Line


Ben Rule FCIRO

Infrastructure Management Director, HS2 Ltd

Claire Mann

Managing Director, South Western Railway

Jim Meade FCIRO

Chief Executive, Irish Rail


Helen Waters MCIRO

Associate Director, Steer

Andy Joy

Managing Director,Story Contracting Limited

Tom Joyner ACIRO

Managing Director, Cross Country Trains

Phil James FCIRO

Route Director, North West at Network Rail

Oliver Bratton FCIRO

Director, Network Strategy & Operations at Network Rail

Fiona Tordoff ACIRO

CEO, Chartered Institution of Railway Operators